Pin It

Inception Movie Review: Your Mind Is the Scene of the Crime

by Evelyn on July 19, 2010

I had a dream in the wee hours of Sunday morning. When I woke up from the dream, I decided that I needed to watch the move “Inception” as soon as possible. My dream had felt real. It was intriguing that I was able to understand its message for me while I was in the dream state. I wanted to find out if “Inception” had more to teach me about dreams.

inception movie your mind is the scene of the crime

“Dreams feel real while we’re in them. It’s only when we wake up that we realize something was actually strange.” — Inception

So after an early evening dinner, I went to watch “Inception” yesterday. I was glad I did.

Inception Movie Review

I won’t be able to go into a lengthy discussion of this movie. Not because I don’t want to but simply because I can’t. The truth is that one viewing is not enough to fully understand the terminology, rules, and exceptions of the intricate plot; one which is set in the world of subconscious.

Christopher Nolan has crafted a multi-layered story – a dream within a dream within a dream and so on. A word of caution: if you do not pay careful attention during the movie, it is possible that you may get lost yourself at any point as to which of the character’s dream you are in. I wouldn’t also want to spoil it by going into details especially if you have not watched the movie yet :-)

Here is a brief summary, however. Dom Cobb (acted by Leonardo DiCaprio) has the rare skill of stealing valuable secrets from the depths of his subject’s subconscious. His ability made him a coveted player in this treacherous new world of corporate espionage. At the same time, it has also made him a fugitive from his own country. He was offered a last chance to return home. The job required him to accomplish the impossible – Inception. Dom Cobb and his team had to do it differently this time, though. Instead of stealing an idea, he was to plant one. Although the team tried to put in careful planning, they were not fully prepared for everything that turned up.

There were lots of scenes that I liked from the movie. I enjoyed how the architectural marvels sprang to life, the collapsing of dreams, the linking of one room to another, that fears could multiply like mental viruses and how unlocking the darkest secret was like accessing a hidden vault. Clearly, the movie bears the creative stroke of genius. One of the best movie lines has it that…

inception movie review

“If we are gonna perform Inception then we need imagination.”

Even from one viewing, the movie resonates deeply. It offers a lot of what I often share on this blog: the power of the subconscious mind (please subscribe to receive my emails if you have not), dreams and alternate realities , addressing fears, imagination, confessing secrets and so on.

“I know how to find secrets from your mind, I know all the tricks!” ~ Inception


My Mind Was the Scene of My Crime

If you are interested to know what my dream on Sunday morning is about, read on. My dream was constructed from the setting of a past memory but explored the possibility of a future day. I could see myself clearly wearing a corporate suit. It was my first day back at work in a 9 to 5 job in the bank. I was assigned to the customer service section. While I was welcomed back with open arms of my colleagues, I had to face the wrath of a demanding female boss. All the characters were none of the people I knew in real life. My dream was being populated with people of my imagination.

In the dream, I tried to steady myself in the effort of not going into a panic. I was getting anxious. I was being asked to handle a simple funds transfer for a wealthy Nigerian customer by my boss. Pride prevented me from being truthful. I was reluctant to tell her that I have forgotten how to fill up the bank transfer form.

In my dream, I went into inner talk. I told myself that it was not that I did not have the knowledge. It was because I had forgotten how-to, after being away from the banking field for so long. I reasoned that if I managed to keep calm, I would be able to retrieve the archives of my banking knowledge which is stored in the deep recesses of my mind.

That was when an inner message surfaced: Fears are more imaginary than real. The lesson was not to blow my fears out of proportion.

While you may dismiss this so-called “message” as nothing profound, allow me to put forth the suggestion that learning on a subconscious level cuts much deeper. It is not the same from knowing things at a conscious level. An idea in your subconscious can rewrite all your rules of living. As Cobb in Inception puts it,

“What’s the most resilient parasite? An idea. A single idea from the human mind can build cities. An idea can transform the world and rewrite all the rules. Which is why I have to steal it.”

Cobb knew that when dreams are built on the past, they would be about confronting fears. He was afraid and so he cautioned…

“Never recreate from your memory. Always imagine new places.”

Eventually he found that as much as he tried not to recreate from memory, it was an impossible task at the deepest layers of the subconscious.

My personal experience. I have been both fascinated and tortured by some of my dreams for a long time. There was a period in time when I suffered badly from insomnia and the inability to fall back to sleep easily after waking up in the middle of the night. My fears were accumulating sky-high at the subconscious level. With no outlet for release, they were bursting at the seams. Eventually, they were appearing in several bad dreams for me. I would wake up with a sense of dread. Luckily, with repeated inner work, my anxiety has subsided substantially. I have been sleeping more fitfully in recent years.

Conclusion

inception movie quotes

1. Inception is a movie about exploring your subconscious. It is about confronting your worst enemy – fear which is a construct of your imaginary mind. At the same time, it is about venturing into possibilities. There is no denying that much power rests with your ability to manage your subconscious well.

2. Do not be scared off by reports of the movie’s complicated story. You should not miss it.

“I’m asking you to take a leap of faith.” – Inception

If you are a personal development student learning about the powers of the subconscious, then this movie is a must-watch. Inception is one of the best movies I have seen, since Matrix. I intend to watch it again.

Here’s the trailer….

3. To learn the art of remembering dreams and to plant ideas in your subconscious all within the same program, look no further than The Silva Life System. José Silva (August 11, 1914 – February 7, 1999) was a parapsychologist who helped people increase their IQ, develop psychic skills, and the ability to heal both themselves and others remotely through the subconscious.This was the program that was instrumental in assisting Jack Canfield, Shakti Gawain and Wayne Dyer in their early days of personal development. In fact, all of them – including several other famous personal development experts – attested to having used the Silva program for years. Silva’s program has certainly helped in my journey as well and I continue to use it!!

Share Your Thoughts

Do share your thoughts about Inception or your dreams, if any.

Abundance Always,

Related Posts with Thumbnails
Preeti @ Heart and Mind July 19, 2010 at 5:48 pm

Evelyn,

Wow, I have yet to see the movie, sounds like a good fun and intriguing. It has been a while since I have watched an interesting one.

When I dream, it feels so real and if I do not recall it i first 5 minutes after waking up, I do not seem to recall it. I should learn more about this, as it seems so fascinating.

Rev. Mary Madeline Day July 19, 2010 at 8:35 pm

Blessings Evelyn,

What a great post! I haven’t seen the movie yet, but certainly will.

I am a big dreamer at night in the sense that I remember them very clearly almost every morning. They teach me so much. There are times in my dream I know it is a dream and I can change things. And then there are times that I have a dream within a dream.

I totally agree with you on the Silva method – it has been a great influence in my life in remembering/learning about my dreams and subconscious mind. (plus so much more)

Thank you for your insights and sharing.

Love, Madeline

Christopher Lovejoy July 19, 2010 at 11:04 pm

Hi Evelyn,

I envisage a world where people can manifest dreams wisely, with discipline, within moments of conception. For now, however, we can only imagine what such a world would look and feel like. Dreams, in the meantime, are teachers of insight into what is possible and desirable. We can either make them up or let them happen. Either way, they teach us many things about ourselves and the world in which we currently live.

I haven’t seen the movie, Inception, but it appears to be saturated with violence, which implies the characters have a chronic and acute resistance to the unusual events that unfold throughout the story. I believe that Christopher Nolan, the director, is addicted to violence, and could have done a much better job with a less indulgent approach, with more subtle pressures and forces applied to character development, in the manner, say, of Hitchcock. But, alas, the pressures of the modern world are great and relief valves such as the one Nolan provides might be necessary. But then again, no. Violence begets violence, which begets more violence.

Truthfully,
Christopher

Lana-Daring Clarity July 20, 2010 at 1:58 pm

going to see it tomorrow, thanks for a great review Evelyn:)

Kelly@SHE-POWER July 20, 2010 at 2:38 pm

Hi Evelyn

I am very keen to see Inception. Not only because it’s a Nolan film and I think he’s brilliant (Memento especially), but because of the subject matter. I love movies about the power of the mind and the blending of the conscious and subconscious worlds. When I first saw The Matrix I was in Play del Carmen, Mexico and the second I walked out of the cinema I wanted to walk right back in and watch it again. The Matrix is still one of my all-time favourite films.

Will let you know what I think when I see Inception.

Kelly x

Evita July 20, 2010 at 10:32 pm

Hi Evelyn

I saw the movie this past Friday night and loved it! And your review is right on!

I have to be honest, I went into it thinking the movie was about “thoughts” and how powerful they are, more from the thinking perspective. I didn’t realize (as I barely saw one trailer) that it was about dreams. So it was a surprise for me as the movie unfolded, but a pleasant one at that, as I myself am fascinated by the dream world.

The movie was awesome indeed – right from the actors, characters to the special effects and of course the story line.

If the movie seems confusing, it is only because we have to stay focused and pay attention. In this movie it is not like in other parts of life, where we can get by on auto-pilot, this movie awakens us back to an alert state of being – or better yet an aware state of being.

Hilary July 20, 2010 at 11:32 pm

Hi Evelyn .. it certainly seems to be a movie that I need to see .. and by the sound of it see it again too. You’ve drawn an intriguing story line .. and I like the idea of the architectural pieces cascading in on each other, as the mind progresses on its search .. I will definitely take myself off to see it when I want some light release.

Thanks for highlighting it for us .. and for the reference points you gave us .. good to know – have a great week .. Hilary

Jannie Funster July 21, 2010 at 9:14 am

I have GOT to see that movie, what a fascinating concept, and the way you describe it — I will see ASAP.

As to your dream, it suggests to me in some way you are not confident in some aspect of something you’d like to do. At least that’s what a dream inpertretation book indicated to me when I was having a similar kind of a dream where my performance in something familiar was all mixed up. Does this ring a personal bell?

Appreciate this post! Thanks

xo

Silver July 22, 2010 at 2:54 pm

Hi Evelyn, long time no see :)

Thanks for this fascinating review of Inception. I must admit that from the initial glances I had of it, I had dismissed it as just being another political / gangster type genre.

However, I am willing to give it a chance for the interesting perspective that it offers.

Regarding the violence that Christopher Lovejoy mentioned. I watched & loved the entire Matrix Revolutions & it didn’t occur to me till years later how violent the series actually was. All I saw was the magnificence of the concepts & themes behind the storyline. I still hold that it is one of the deepest movie series I’ve ever watched.

Our reality is built on what we choose to focus on. I tend to agree with Abraham’s (Esther & Jerry Hicks) suggestions on giving focus & energy to what we want instead of what we do not want. Energy flows where attention goes.

If we truly want more of what we do want to manifest, then we ought to start focusing more energy on what we do want then on all levels of our consciousness, speech & behaviour.

That is the most & the best I think we can do.

Lisa (mommymystic) July 23, 2010 at 2:44 am

Evelyn, I was feeling pulled to this movie, but wasn’t sure I wanted to make the effort now, or wait until it was out on DVD. But your review sealed it for me, this needs to be my (and my husband’s) one non-kid movie this summer! I do love the themes of dreaming, and our subconscious, and I love all the quotes you shared. Plus, when you say it’s your favorite since The Matrix, an absolute favorite of mine too and one of the few movies I own, I think ‘ how could I not go?’ So thanks for that, and for sharing your dream and insights. – Lisa

Phil - Less Ordinary Living July 23, 2010 at 3:33 am

Evelyn –

Thanks for a great review of the movie and linking it back to your own experiences. I’m looking for tickets right now! Great post – dream and the subconscious are fascinating. I’ve just been experimenting with positive affirmations and am blown away by their power.

Phil

Keith Davis July 24, 2010 at 2:30 am

Hi Evelyn
I love films with good plots… The usual suspects, Pulp fiction, Matrix (first film)films that you have to watch and pay attention to.
Inception sounds fantastic “a dream within a dream within a dream and so on” .
Thanks for a great review and a few clues that will make understanding the film a little easier.

Chris Edgar July 26, 2010 at 3:58 am

Hi Evelyn — I can definitely relate to what you said about just accumulating information versus knowing at a deeper level — the same idea, in my experience, can be known deeply or just on the surface. When I was first starting to meditate I could only grasp conceptually what some teachers said — the notion that, in fact, there’s no “me” that does the experiencing. Later on I started to see more of the sometimes frightening but awe-inspiring truth to that.

Amit Sodha - The Power Of Choice July 26, 2010 at 8:36 pm

I just saw it last night. Great movie, very long so if you go see it, get comfortable, grab some popcorn and enjoy!

You were right to not talk too much about the plot, it’s one of those things that you have to see it to understand it.

Tim D July 28, 2010 at 12:33 am

I *loved* the movie…It reminded me of a book that I really liked, Lucid Dreaming by Stephen Laberge.

Tim D
http://www.momentary.org
what are you grateful for today?

Austin Dradipt August 10, 2010 at 10:09 pm

Hey Evelyn! Nice Blog :)
I have already watched this movie yet, and i’m just like oh gaaawd what a amazing movie!
Well, i’m not in the movie when the time sets in, cause i’m being late for 18 hours after the movie started LOL. But actually i love the scene where Ariadne and Cobb were having for some lunch and she was like realized that she’s dreaming. And i love the way how Nolan tells the audience to create our own world by our dreams. But i love the movie at all.
Keep posting! :)

Cheers.

usuf October 28, 2010 at 7:34 pm

When we dream, we are certainly in the theta phase of mind and this is the phase where gravity and space are disappeared. I didnt see such thing in the movie expect one scene of gravtylessness. Rest the movie is lovely.
usuf

Previous post:

Next post: